Running … Its What I do

I don’t intend for Pant Suits & Diapers to become a running blog. However, running is a HUGE part of my life and a major part in how I create balance in my days. So I want to capture my training plans and what I’m doing, and maybe even how I’m able to train for races with my crazy and hectic life for prosperity’s sake.

Right now I’m training for a local half-marathon I ran last year. It’s in mid-November and it was the first race I really raced post baby and I secured a 30 minute PR. So this year, I’m looking to get another PR. I’m really itching for a sub 2:00 half, but with my life right now and where I am, my primary goal is a 2:10 half-marathon. Here’s what my training has looked like so far:

Half-Marathon Training Week #1

Monday:  3 easy miles

Tuesday: wu, 2 x 800 @ 4:32, 4:54, cd

Wednesday: OFF

Thursday: 4 easy miles

Friday: 4 tempo miles @ 10:22

Saturday: 6 mile long run – I did 3 miles on treadmill because Diapers woke up from his nap. I planned to run another 3 after he was in bed, but when 9 pm rolled around the couch forced me to sit down. LRF = Long Run Fail.

Sunday: OFF

Total Mileage: 18 miles

 

 

Week #2

Monday: 3 easy miles

Tuesday: wu, 2 x 1 mile, cd

Wednesday: OFF

Thursday: 5 easy miles

Friday: 4 tempo miles @ 10:30

Saturday: 6 mile long run

Sunday: OFF

Total mileage: 21 miles

I don’t remember all my paces for this week – I’d have to look back in my log. I do know I hit them better than last week and got all the mileage in.

 

 

Week #3

Monday: 3 easy miles

Tuesday: 4 x 800 @ 8:54

Wednesday: OFF

Thursday: 6 easy miles 1-5 @ 11:06, 6 @ 10:49

Friday: 5 tempo miles @ 10:33

Saturday: 8 mile long run @ 11:30 average pace

Sunday: OFF

Total Mileage: 26 miles

This week kicked my butt. I’m doing the Hanson’s training plan (modified to fit my schedule and my fear of injury), and this week I could feel it. Although I wasn’t physically tired, my legs were very tired. Also, I’m eating a ton so Runger (running hunger) is in full force. When this happens I feel hardcore wearing my HRG shirt!

And in case you are looking for a running blog, there are several out there that I love to follow. In my extremely limited blogging etiquette here are the links for the ones I follow, and I hope this is the right way to link to another blog (if not PLEASE let me know m’kay? Thanks!) : Hungry Runner Girl, Shut Up + Run, Life Is Hard but Never Serious, Glitter and Dust, Dixie Runs, Ok, So Here’s the Plan, Sweat Out the Small Stuffand Run, Selfie, Repeat. There are of course a lot more running blogs out there so look around!

Leave a Reply

