Half-Marathon Training Week #5

Week #5 – this was a solid week where I pushed myself through the discomfort of adapting and getting stronger and faster. I have had some really good work outs and some tired legs. I am officially a third of the way through my training plan!

Monday: 4 easy miles on treadmill at 11:06 pace. After a couple miles my legs woke up and were craving to go fast so I did half a mile at 8:57 pace.

Tuesday: 6 x 800 @ 4:00 minutes each. Ran with my Garmin again and seeing my pace is just AMAZING!! It’s very motivating and it keeps me accountable! Not to mention my other 800 repeats were long by about a tenth of a mile! Splits: 3:57, 3:57, 3:58, 3:56, 3:58, 3:58.

Wednesday: OFF

Thursday: 4.45 easy miles @ 10:28 average. For whatever reason I was thinking I only had 4 miles on my training plan. I was wrong. It was 6. Fail. Maybe I was hoping it was Monday? No idea but anyways this was an overall good run. Splits: 10:27, 10:37, 10:23, 10:29, 4:49 for last 0.46

Friday: 6 tempo miles. This run was tough to really hit the paces. My legs were tired and it just didn’t “click”. Easy effort felt hard so I accepted the harder effort and discomfort knowing pushing through when my legs are tired will make me stronger come race day! Splits: 10:06, 10:11, 10:28, 11:12, 12:05, 9:59. Miles 4 and 5 were just TOUGH! Does anyone else get a surge of adrenaline for their last mile? I do this every time and it makes me feel a little better about my crappier miles. Average @ 10:40/mile.

Saturday: OFF (FirefighterDad worked Friday which means he wasn’t home until 9 am-ish and this is past my ideal running time. I was a little grumpy this day; it’s amazing how much my mood is impacted by running, or this case NOT running)

Sunday: 8 miles @ average 10:24. I wanted to focus on negative splitting/fast finish this long run. With Saturday off, I knew my legs had more rest than typical so I stuck with the discomfort focusing on pushing through it. It all went well until mile 7 where I got this really weird and painful chest-side cramp thing! It was the longest .3 miles ever and I had to do a lot of walking and slow my pace. This is how it went: 10:41, 10:45, 10:42, 10:43, 9:51, 9:55, 10:58 (cramp), 9:32. All in all, I am very happy with this and my legs were very happy-tired 😀

Total: 26 miles

Next week is gonna get real! I have my first 10 mile long run!

Leave a Reply

