Weekly Menu 9/7 – 9/13

Being a working mom means balance. And flexibility. And improvising. And planning. And wine. Always wine.

In the planning department I like to make weekly dinner menus. This prevents the whole 5 o’clock what do you want for dinner? I dunno what do you want? and it also helps me grocery shop more efficiently. When this doesn’t happen, we enter the flexibility department and this usually means we have scrambled eggs. Or grilled cheese. And although I like these options, I also like to make sure we are all eating a well balanced and nutritious dinner. I also want diapers to be exposed to a lot of various foods because, if I’m being honest, I detest picky eaters. I know, I know. Judgey-McJudgerson.  

I’m not a huge fan of the actually meal planning part, but it makes my life SO much easier and the week just moves along very smoothly. I can grocery shop, prep, and go right along with my busy life without the added stress of figuring out dinner. So I suck it up and do it.

I’m hoping by posting them, I can help you and you can help me. Sometimes I need inspiration. So feel free to add your menu in the comments!

Monday: Panini Sandwiches with fresh fruit (strawberries and nectarines) – 15 minutes

Tuesday: Salmon and asparagus – 35 minutes

Wednesday: Cobb salad (I have veggies that need to get eaten. Diapers doesn’t really eat salad yet so he will have veggies and a cheese quesadilla) – 15 minutes (I have cooked shredded chicken in the freezer and I’ll make hard boiled eggs and chop veggies when I get home)

Thursday: Meatballs and veggies – 20 minutes (I have homemade cooked meatballs and sauce in the freezer that will thaw during the day and I’ll steam some veggies and pan heat the meatballs)

Friday: BBQ Chicken with veggies/salad – 35 minutes (I’ll make ask FirefighterDad to heat up the grill when I’m headed home and toss on some chicken breasts)

Saturday: Leftovers (standard Saturday) – 15 minutes or so

Sunday: Hawaiian Chicken with quinoa – 40 minutes (this is a frozen crock pot meal that I will cook on the stove top since my crock pot is acting weird)

Our dinners tend to be Paleo in nature since we have figured out that I can’t handle pasta well and FirefighterDad can’t handle rice and high gluten foods well. I also rely on quick and easy meals so I have included estimated prep/cook times!


What are some of your go-to or favorite meals?

Do you menu plan?

One thought on “Weekly Menu 9/7 – 9/13

  1. I really need to get better about meal planning. Right now it seems impossible with a newborn. I’ve been eating a lot of pb&j sandwiches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

