Half-Marathon Training Week #6

I know I’ve been MIA for a few days. Hopefully my 7 readers (haha) didn’t miss me too much 😉

Anyways, on Wednesday I had a vertigo and attack and it really laid me up. I missed a couple runs, but overall still had a decent week of training, although my mileage was lower than I would like.

Week #6

Monday: 4 easy miles @ average 11:11. My knees are sore. I really focused on going slow and reminding myself that recovery miles are just as important as the faster miles!

Tuesday: 4 x 1 mile @ 9:00. I had to do this run on the treadmill at work during lunch. I wasn’t looking forward to a treadmill run, or the work out but I knew I would be pumped getting it done. Had some great music and ended with: 8:57 (TM doesn’t have a setting for 9:00), 8:57, 8:57, and 8:49 with 0.5 mile recoveries somewhere in the neighborhood of 10:54-11:19. Total of 6.5 miles and I actually felt better than expected.

Wednesday: OFF

Thursday: 6 miles easy. I didn’t run this day. I had a vertigo episode hit me late Wednesday afternoon and I was miserable! Needless to say I was out of commission on Thursday and remained horizontal until about 4 pm.

Friday: 6 mile tempo @ 10:00. Lingering effects of vertigo still had me feeling lousy. I went back to work, and started feeling better as the day progressed, but I decided to play it safe and not run.

Saturday: 10 miles with a friend! After 3 days I finally got a run in! The worst part about this run was the mosquitoes. We started at 6 am so I have no idea why the mosquitoes were out in full force but I did 10 miles and got 24 bites! Splits: 11:51, 11:16, 11:54, 11:48, 11:16, 11:49, 11:26, 11:22, 11:30, 11:11. I ran with a friend who was doing a 16 mile long run so we took it nice and easy.

Sunday: OFF

Total Mileage: 20.5

I’m moving into the half way point of training where my speed work transitions to more strength work and I am getting a little bored and losing just a tiny bit of motivation. I’m considering mixing it up a bit and adding in some Insanity workouts 3x week. I think a 35-45 min legs, core, and arms workout would be sufficient while I’m training, but I also know I am going to be crazy sore for a few weeks. My goal with this would be to just add some strength work into my training, and not kill myself on the workouts. Maybe after this training cycle I’ll actual do the 60 day program, before training for another half. Decisions, decisions.


Have you done Insanity or P90X? What are your thoughts?

Have you incorporated these into training as strength workouts?

One thought on “Half-Marathon Training Week #6

  1. I’ve never tried Insanity or P90X but I’ve always wanted to. Adding strength training into your routine will make you a stronger runner. I’m looking forward to getting back into a running/workout routine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

