Life

Life right now is, well life. Its good, fun, and enjoyable with a lot of crazy tossed in! I’ve been a little absent from the blog so I figured I do a brief update on my going-ons.

Work

Work is going well and this was the first week in about 4, where I didn’t go from one meeting to the next. Lately, my job has involved a lot of follow up with several people/teams, lots of coordination, and meetings. Seriously, I would have meetings from 9 am – 12 pm, break for lunch and have meetings from 2 pm – 4 pm. Needless to say, the days were long, and didn’t feel very productive. This week most of my team was at a training so I have savored the 2.5 days I have had all to myself to get some shit done. Its been productive, quiet, and down right awesome. Next week, I will have another 3 days with most of the team out of the office and I have some serious plans to finalize some projects before I travel again.

Family

FirefighterDad is awesome – he’s saving lives, kicking ass, and takin’ names! I couldn’t be more proud of his hard work and dedication to his family and our community. He’s pretty much the shit. Diapers is doing well too. He’s growing like a weed, finally sleeping in a toddler bed (yay!!), and is sassy, rambunctious, and lovable. Life is good at 3.5.

Running

Running is… well, for lack of better words, in the crapper. I’m still running, I’m still training, but like most training cycles its not going quite like I imagined. I am more than half way through, and in typical fashion I have lost my motivation to wake my ass up at 4:30 am to run. I’m proud to say that regardless of my lack of motivation, I am still getting my butt up and out the door to run. Usually within the first mile or so I am happy I did, but its taking a lot more self discipline to start. I’d say that for most training cycles this always happens – I enter the “eh” phase. Training can be broken down like this:

First 1/4 of Training Plan: Yes!! I am a F***ing Bad-Ass!! I’m training for a half marathon!

Second 1/4 of Training Plan: I’m improving! I’m not breathing hard, my paces are faster – suwheet!

Second to Last 1/4 of Training Plan: F*** this! 4:30 am – Hell no! I am over this and want to sleep in. I am SO tired…and hungry!

Last 1/4 of Training Plan: Ohmygosh, ohmygosh, ohmygosh!! My race is in 4 weeks! I’m going to be tapering in 2 weeks – ahhh! I’m so excited, I can’t wait to race!

So needless to say, I’m not too concerned. I will move out of the “eh” phase and into the “reignited excitement” phase soon. Like other training cycles, when the challenge is gone, I lose motivation. I see improvement, runs are easier, paces are easier, and I have completed tough workouts – I met the challenge. Now I just need a new challenge and fortunately, my training plan moves from speed work to strength workouts and from tempo runs to goal race pace runs next week. A new challenge, a new journey, and running at a new level – all things that help me leave the “eh” phase in the dust. So to new challenges!


What’s been going on in your life right now?

Is this a busy time for you/your family?

One thought on “Life

  1. We all going through those stages of training. Try to trust the process. Have you thought about finding a running partner? That always helps me get out of bed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

