Food. All the food.

My days revolve around food.

I really like food.

Like, a lot.

So it’s no surprise to me when I start training for a race my love of food increases. While training, I really focus on good calories to fuel and nourish my body. I still indulge in my wine and my sweets, but I try to be conscience about my snack choices and my portions.

During this training cycle I haven’t lost any weight. I wasn’t trying to lose weight, and when my legs get nicely defined again, as they do every training cycle, I know the number on the scale isn’t accurate. And like most training cycles after a few weeks in, my body starts to crave healthy and fresh food. Read: Give.Me.All.The.Vegtables.Now. Intuitive eating has always fascinated me, and during training I like to keep to my Paleo-ish meals and intuitively eat. If my body wants all the vegetables, then it will get it. If my body wants milk, then milk I drink (I especially crave milk and carbs/sugar after hard or long runs so cue in my Ovaltine).

That’s all well in good. Where the challenge lies is this: I work 8-9 hours a day and wake up at the butt crack of dawn, so by 4 pm I am le tired and need simple and quick meals. Couple that with a 3.5 year old who loves macaroni and cheese, pizza, and cereal, and FirefighterDad, who will deny this, is a picky eater (love you honey!). And to be fair, he may not be craving salads and eggs, and all the food like I am.

So how do I get around this? 1.) Meal prep on weekends, and cook more elaborate meals on weekends. 2.) Leftovers. Plan for leftovers. Always. 3.) Simple, easy, fresh ingredients.

Here are some meals I have made in the past several weeks. Enjoy!

Carrot Pasta with a Sausage Tomato Sauce

Featured image

Pasta kills my stomach so enter carrot pasta. I actually prefer carrot pasta over zoodles (zucchini noodles) and I love this dish! The sweetness of the carrots really compliments the sausage.

Spinach Quinoa with a Fried Egg…or two.

Featured image

Sautéed spinach and onion then tossed it into cooked quinoa (I use plain quinoa, rinse it well and cook on stove top). Couple fried eggs and sliced fresh tomato and avocado. This was fantastic!

Meatballs and a Spinach Apple Peach salad

Featured image

Homemade meatballs (sautéed onion and spinach mixed in seasoned ground beef) from the freezer that I heated up and a simple salad. During this time I was craving peaches like crazy!

Egg Topped Burger with Sautéed Asparagus

Featured image

This was a very quick meal. Prepped hamburger patties and cooked them up, then fried an egg. Side note, I have no idea why I never tried this before! It just seemed so off-putting to me to put an egg on a burger, but oh so so good! Fresh spinach, tomato and avocado completed the ensemble. Asparagus was sauteed in butter with pepper and garlic salt.

Brinner

Featured image

Three scrambled eggs topped with fresh tomato and avocado and 2 Earth’s Best “Cookie Monster” Blueberry Waffles (Diapers loves these waffles!) topped with maple syrup and fresh strawberries.

Adult Grilled Cheese

Featured image

I had some cooked and shredded chicken in the freezer so I thawed some, tossed it onto a grilled cheese along with some spinach and half a peach. Not all of the peach made it into the picture. This was a simple and quick lunch after a long run!

Shrimp Tacos with Cilantro Lime Mango Salsa

Featured image

Shrimp tacos always turned me off because who wants to put cheese, sour cream, and salsa on shrimp? Not me. But, I then got the ingenious idea to create my own salsa, and ya’ll this was EPIC. I fired the shrimp (bought pre-cooked and peeled) up with a honey red pepper sauce and the salsa was 2 mangoes, some red onion, red pepper, cilantro, and lime juice. When I bit into my taco it was a flavor explosion in my mouth! Seriously, my taste buds were having a party and dancing like it was 1999. Make these. Now. It won’t disappoint.

So this was a random post about food and how much I like it and I just wanted to share. So here ya go!


  1. What is your favorite food?
  2. What is your favorite food to cook with?
  3. If you run, or work out, what post-workout foods do you like? This is so hard for me, because I’m usually hungry after a run, but NOTHING sounds good, so I could use some inspiration.
2 thoughts on “Food. All the food.

  1. I love a protein shake or banana and peanut butter after a long run. Protein & carbs is what your body needs to recover. How do you cook the carrots or are they raw?

    Like

    • Hi Sara! Good point, I can always go for a good chocolate banana protein smoothie post run!

      I use a veggie peeler to make carrot pasta strips and I steam them until they are limp. They still have a crunch to them which is what I prefer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

