It’s My Party and I’ll Cry if I Want To…

Sometimes you just have to cry. Sometimes you just have to let them cry.

When Diapers was an infant he was a crier. And no matter how many times I nursed him, rocked him, burped him, changed him, and held him, he would just cry. I wouldn’t say this is normal, but it was characteristic of my child for his first 4-5 months of life. Perhaps coming almost two months early was a part of it, or perhaps it was just Diapers being Diapers. I quickly learned that sometimes he just needed to cry. For no ryhme or reason he just needed this outlet and as much as I hated it, and wanted to fix it, fighting it always made it worse. So eventually I learned how to embrace it and stay sane in the process.

Tonight I was reminded that sometimes not fighting the crying is better in the long run. Even at 3.5 I think sometimes Diapers just needs to let it out. Being over tired, over stimulated, and just over is hard to navigate at 3. So instead of fighting it, instead of getting frustrated and trying to tell Diapers to calm down, I just let it be. He cried and I rubbed his lavender lotion on his legs and belly and arms and didn’t say a word. The amazing part was my fix-it nature found a place of acceptance and as quickly as the crying started, it was finished.

I asked Diapers if he felt better and in a sleepy voice he said “yeah”.

And that right there makes it all worth it.

After all, it’s his party and he’ll cry if he wants to.

Leave a Reply

