Identity Crisis

I’m feeling like a fraud. I’m no longer a working mom in the corporate world and I don’t have a hectic schedule. So I’ve been toying with the idea of giving my blog a new name, but I’m pretty sure that’s a HUGE no-no in the blogging world. That coupled with changing domain name, branding/image, etc I just.dont.know.

I have a good idea of what I would rename my blog as, and it’s much more general and I could then wrote about anything including corporate America and my career should that time come, BUT then I’m just another mommy blogger. Which I don’t have anything against, but ya know, internet traffic. What sets my blog apart from the other mommy blogs?

I’m not really looking at making money off of my blog because let’s be honest I’d have to blog more than once a month, BUT if the opportunity arises, I wouldn’t say no. On that same line, I have been seriously considering doing some freelance writing. I love writing, I have varied interests, experiences, perspectives, and qualifications and would love to bring in some additional income while I’m navigating this high risk pregnancy. However, depending upon the freelance opportunity, I would need a greater social media/blogging presence which I’m 100% on board with, but if I work on creating this, I would need ONE consistent name between blog, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc. So, dilemma. I have a great blog name idea, but I’m not sure it would translate to other social media accounts. Of course I dunno because I’m no expert.

Ugh. Decisions, decisions.

Also, how would I address the anonymity of my current blog with potentially doing freelance writing under a social media handle? I’m okay with being less anonymous in theory, but protecting my kids will be priority. But, like you all, I love seeing daily pictures on blogs including kids, dogs, food, homes, etc. so I know that helps with generating followers. And let’s be real, Instagram is nothing.but.pictures.

So.

Many.

Thoughts.

So, fellow readers what are your thoughts? Should I rename and rebrand my blog? Should I use my new blog name as my social media handle? Should I just let it be for a while and see what happens?

p.s. I washed my hair today so basically…I’m winning at life right now!

 

Leave a Reply

