Freezer Cooking Part 1

Bedrest is still going ya’ll. I’m 31 weeks today (yay!), baby boy is doing really well, and all in all I’m stable. I feel miserable, but I’m stable so I’ll suck it up and continue bedresting a few more weeks of growing this precious boy!

In the meantime I have been on a mission to prepare me and Diapers for Baby Brother’s arrival by doing some freezer cooking. I first started freezer cooking a few years ago after reading Money Saving Mom‘s blog. She has some great ideas and it really is a huge help. With a 4 year old and soon to have a newborn, I knew I needed to get a jump on this.

I wanted to make fun, nutrious, simple, cost effective, and easy lunches that Diapers could reheat in the microwave by himself.

Enter my muffin pans.

I had a box of Jiffy cornbread mix and some BOGO hot dogs so I decided to try making corn dog muffins. I’ll admit the final product looked and smelled WAY more appealing than the uncooked/being assembled “muffins” looked.

Here’s how I did it:

First, I mixed up the box of Jiffy (how good is this cornbread?! It’s my fave and SO ridiculously easy to make!). Then I spooned a small amount in the bottom of each muffin wrapper. On top of that I cut up half a hot dog per muffin and then topped each muffin with the remaining cornbread mix.

The end result smelled just like a corn dog, and although I haven’t tried them, Diapers LOVES them!

FYI, I baked these at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Since I already had the oven on, I also made a double batch of my homemade granola.

image

If you love granola, stop what you are doing and make this NOW. Seriously, you will not be disappointed. This granola is on point, simple, and the best.I’ve.ever.had. For realz.

And it’s more of a mix-it-together-and-fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants recipe, which is just my style.

I use oatmeal (original, quick cook, steel cut – whatever floats your boat)

Butter (I’ve also used half butter and half coconut oil)

Brown sugar

Ground Cinnamon

I mix the oatmeal, brown sugar, and cinnamon together in a large mixing bowl. In a separate microwave safe bowl, I melt the butter then pour this over my dry ingridents. I mix this up incorporating the butter to moisten the oatmeal. I seriously just eyeball amounts. If it looks like I don’t have enough liquid I melt more butter. The idea is to get the oatmeal damp not soaking wet.

I pour it onto cookie sheets, smooth it out and bake for about 15 minutes on 425 until it’s a nice golden brown. I let it cool for about 10 minutes so the melted sugar can set a little, then with a spatula I mix it up crumbling it along the way. I put it in freezer ziplock bags and freeze it when it’s completely cooled off. It also keeps in the fridge well.

Other add-ins I have done is honey, milled flaxseed, and protein powder. I also want to try tossing in some raw quinoa for a protein source.

 

What are some simple re-heatable lunches  that you rely on?

Anyone else do some freezer cooking?

Leave a Reply

