Freezer Cooking Part 3

I know.

know.

Why should you get your hopes up about this post after the debacle of  Part 2?

And all I can say is that on this particular day I got my crap together and took pictures like a boss. Like a Big Bad Blogging Boss (nice alteration, huh?).

I started with cooking 2 boxes of pasta and 2.5 lbs of ground beef.

image

Once these were done, drained, and cooled a bit, I made my ricotta cheese mixtures with I snuck in some blended cauliflower for an added punch of veggies.

image

I added two eggs, salt, pepper, basil, and oregano to the ricotta cheese. The unpleasant orange glob is my blended cauliflower. I had to add some tomato sauce to it for some liquid.

Then began the assembly of Lasagna Cups for Diapers! I mixed meat, sauce, ricotta cheese, and pasta in a bowl then spooned some into paper muffin cups.

I topped it with some shredded cheddar cheese and baked them at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. These smelled incredibly and FirefighterDad actually ate one and the best part?! He didn’t notice the cauliflower!!

While the cups were baking, I also made Lasagna Casseroles. Or Baked Ziti with meat? Either way they looked good and will be super simple dinners.

I started with a thin layer of sauce, followed by pasta, ricotta cheese, meat, sauce, pasta…well you get the idea.

I then topped them with shredded cheddar cheese, sprinkled some basil and oregano on top and wrapped these bad boys up for the freezer.

My final freezer cooking for the day was making Mac and Cheese cups for Diapers. I saved some of the cooked pasta and made a simple homemade cheese sauce with butter, milk (lactose free for Diapers), shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar cheese, added in the pasta, stirred and plopped them into paper muffin cups. I topped them with a small slice of cheddar cheese and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes until the cheese was ooey-gooey and melted.

And folks, that concluded my freezer cooking for the day. I had everything cool completely them put the cups into freezer bags.

 

What are some simple lunches you make for your kids?

What casseroles do you enjoy for dinner?

Leave a Reply

