Hard Reality

I’ve been hesitant to share this information because my heart is already SO invested, and in some weird way, if I share this news, then I am getting more invested.

But then I realize, this is just crazy talk. Because the fact of the matter is, my heart is already 100% captivated.

And should things take a turn for the worse, at least I can be real and authenticate on here too and have some extra support.

So here’s my news:

This is Mable.

image

 

 

Mableine Midnight is her full name; Mabel for short. Isn’t she just the sweetest?!

Mabel was found on the side of the road by a fellow firefighter that works with FirefighterDad. Knowing I’m a huge dog-lover, FirefighterDad sends me a picture

image

Doesn’t she just have the sweetest face? 

Evidently, Mabel came right up to the firefighter and he was able to pick her up and put her in his truck. He then took her to the station and FirefighterDad got her over to our vet.

Mabel is still at my local vet healing. She was hit by a car almost two weeks ago and this sweet girl has gone through A LOT. Like a lot A LOT.

She has a broken pelvis and sacrum, had to get spayed because the impact of the car caused the placentas to detach from her uterus – so yes her puppies couldn’t be saved. This caused intense hemorraging and infection so a spay was our only option to help save Mable.

As Mable was recovering from this surgery, the vet found out Mable is urinary and fecal incontinent. This is due to nerve damage. For dogs, a large bundle of nerves runs through the sacrum. These nerves control the anal sphincter muscle, bladder muscles, the tail and the hind quarters. Our vet got a second opinion on Mabel’s prognosis and the reality is we won’t know if this is permanent damage or temporary unless we give her body time to heal. So at a minimum, we wait for 30 days. She has a lot of swelling and naturally a lot of trauma on her backend. We’re praying this is temporary and if she doesn’t get 100% function back, we’re hoping she gets enough where she has a great quality of life.

Then, in the midst of getting the second opinion on Mabel’s nerve damage, the vet informed me Mabel’s bladder ruptured. Mabel became sick very very quickly. Ultimately a decision needed to be made ASAP – exploratory surgery to see if the bladder was repairable, or letting her go. Here is when I started crying buckets because my heart hurt. Mabel is the sweetest little girl and probably only 2-3 years old. She has SO much life left to live.

FirefighterDad and myself, along with my mom and a couple other firefighters went up to see Mabel and say our good byes. The decision was ultimately made to try the surgery and should Mabel’s condition be too far gone, the vet would let her go on the table. We decided this was the most humane way to handle any unexpected complications, but it also gave Mabel a solid fighting chance.

This is getting to be a really long post but in the end Mabel pulled through surgery beautifully! And the vet said it was a really simple repair and more than likely Mabel had a compromised part of her bladder from the impact of the car, so her bladder was a ticking time bomb.

I went  to go see Mabel the next day and she looked SO much better. She was resting comfortably and was even eating!

When I would pet her and love on her, she would relax her head on my hand and doze off a little.

image

The instant I pulled my hand back or stopped petting her, she would open her eyes and lift up her head like “why’d you stop?”

image

One of the vet techs said she’s very needy and likes her pets. And to that, I say yes she is but rightly deserved!

The vet office was closed yesterday so I couldn’t go see my sweet girl, but the game plan was to continue IV fluids and antibiotics, continue oral pain meds since she was willingly eating (!) and let her rest. Her IV fluids were able to be lowered because her kidney values were heading in the right direction. So all this is positive and Mabel is a tough little girl. I’m going to go give her a visit and some well earned pets today!

Please keep Mabel in your thoughts as she continues this long road of recovery. She’s not out of the woods yet, but she is proving to be a very tough dog and has captured my heart.

 

Any other dog owners/dog-lovers?

Anyone have funny/sweet dog stories to share?

 

Leave a Reply

