Morning Chores

Ya’ll, I’m gonna let you in on a little secret:

I’m a little OCD.

Seriously. A therapist once told me so.

For realz.

Oh, and she said I have some degree of Generalized Anxiety Disorder.

Yeah, I guess it’s not normal for an 8 year old to lose sleep over fearing about death.

(Please know that although I mean for this post to be a little tongue in cheek, there is nothing funny about anxiety, depression, or other illnesses and my intent is not to offend anyone)

With all that being said, I have instituted…

Drum roll please…

MORNING CHORES!!!

Can you sense my excitement?!

Now that I’m a SAHM I needed to create a little more routine to my days so I get shit done. Since I am a morning person and HATE clutter in my home (OCD part maybe? Although I do get anxious when things aren’t put away), I have started doing morning chores.

I love it!

Brother I hates it.

I figured he’s 4 and it’s about time he does some things himself like laundry, dishes, and cleaning up his own messes. I of course guide, instruct, and help along the way, but ya’ll even though it’s a bit of a struggle, this kid is capable of a lot!

For me, this is my time to straighten up, do the dishes, get laundry going, make my bed, and I typically get this is all done within 30-40 minutes. So I’m not busting my ass.

I drink my coffee, nurse Baby C, and then get to it. Then we eat breakfast and I feel SO accomplished before 9 or 10am. It’s working right now and having a generally clean house is SO nice and refreshing.

Let’s not even talk about Mr. I’s room though.

I’m getting anxious just thinking about it.

 

Mommas out there, what is your routine like?

Any “must dos” in your routine?

 

Leave a Reply

