Insanity Week 1 Eats

Ya’ll, this is by far the hardest part of the 60 day Insanity program – nutrition.

What the heck am I suppose to eat?!

How much am I suppose to eat?!

I’m breastfeeding so how many calories do I need?!

How many grams of protein should I eat in a day?!

Carbs? Are they good, bad, somewhere in between?

So yeah, I’m still trying to figure this out. And I even read the Insanity Nutrition Plan. It has a lot of information and lots of meal ideas and I’m definitely using it, but I’m still second guessing my food choices.

I clearly need a personal dietician AND chef because this past week I didn’t get around to eating breakfast until 11 am or later!

Yeah, not good.

And most days, that meal ended up being breakfast AND lunch.

I know….this is bad, but with a newborn it’s life.

The other thing that’s kinda tricky is I can’t rely on a scale and certain goal weight to dictate if my calorie consumption is appropriate because Insanity is cardio AND strength training.

Which means I’m going to gain muscle and burn fat.

And one thing I do know, muscle weighs more than fat.

Hence why measurements are so important.

But the part that’s confusing: when should I see my measurements improving?

The answer: it depends.

On what you might ask…

How hard I work out and what I eat.

*hand hits forehead*

So, maybe now you understand my dilemma.

What the hell do I eat and how much?

So to make sense of all of this and to simplify the nutrition aspect, here is what I’m trying:

Breakfast will either be eggs, breakfast burrito, cottage cheese and fruit, Greek yogurt with granola, or oatmeal.

Snack will either be a protein shake, cottage cheese, hard boiled egg, or Greek yogurt.

Lunch will be a salad with either chicken, tuna, or salmon with all the veggies and some fruit.

Snack will be a protein shake, a PB&J, rice cakes with PB, almonds, yogurt, or fruit. This snack will probably depend upon my level of breastfeeding hunger. Lately, I’ve been having a PB&J because I am so hungry.

Dinner will be a protein (salmon, chicken, beef) with veggies and another side such as salad, quinoa, or potatoes.

Before bed treat will probably be fruit, protein shake, yogurt, or a glass of wine 1-2 days/week only.

With all of these meals and snacks, my goal is to limit my sugar intake (candy, cookies, ice cream, etc) and make better food choices like a piece of fruit over cookies.

I’m guessing right now my calories are somewhere around 1600-2000. I know it’s a wide range but with Baby C, some days I just don’t get around to eating a meal and rely on quick snacks, and other days I can sit down and eat decent meals.

This week I did fairly good on my above “nutrition plan”. I had eggs with a Greek yogurt most days, followed by some kind of snack, followed by another snack, then maybe another because I never did get a solid lunch in since I ate breakfast so late. Then I had dinner which varied from sandwiches to a protein shake.

I did have some cheats though in the form of wine and chocolate chips. I did however, significantly limit my sugar by not giving in to every craving like I was before. So it’s a small step of improvement.

To make next week even easier to stay on plan, I did some food prep today while Baby C napped (in his crib! More on this later!).

I cooked quinoa with sautéed cabbage, onion, spinach, and green pepper in it. This will make for an easy salad addition or a side with my meals.

I also chopped up cabbage, spinach, and green pepper and stored it together as a salad “base” that I can add to each day.

I had a fresh pineapple I cut up as well for a quick snack option that beats my usual granola bars and other processed and high sugar foods.

I then cut up the cucumbers that desperately need to be eaten so I can either munch on, add into a salad, or have as a side.

With part of the cucumber I decided to make a quick cucumber pineapple salsa to go with our salmon we’re having for my birthday dinner tonight. Yummy!

I’m hoping next week I can make more improvements and have less doubt about my food choices.


What is your food philosophy? Clean eating? Paleo? THM? Eat whatever you want? Whole foods only? Low carb?

Anyone else have a birthday in August? Today I’m 29…my last year in my 20s.

One thought on “Insanity Week 1 Eats

Leave a Reply

