Insanity Update and Insanity Eats Week 2 and 3

It’s been a few several days since I have updated on my Insanity progress so here it is:

I have taken off 3 days in a row.

Then got back on track and completed the next workout.

Then took a day off.

Then got back on track.

Then took a day off.

Then got back on track with the Cardio Recovery routine today.

Clearly there’s a pattern here, but I am choosing to ignore it, so I’m asking you do the same. M’kay? Just humor me on this one.

Alright, now that we got that out of the way, here is a brief update.

I miss running! Its strong ya’ll. I REALLY REALLY miss running. Insanity is a GREAT workout and I sweat my butt off and get a little endorphin rush, but its just not the same as running. And its making Insanity hard to stick with.

I am going to continue Insanity, but when I want to run, and I can fit it into my schedule, I’m going to! I hope that getting a couple runs in a week will help with my running withdrawals. Also, I know I’m stronger from Insanity so I am curious how this will translate in runs. I’ll keep ya’ll posted.

I have completed 18 days of Insanity (if I take a day off I pick back up where I left off versus the scheduled workout. I know this will extend my 60 days, but I’m good with it) and I have lost 3 inches.

-1 inch on chest (above breasts)

-0.5 inche on waist

-1 inch on hips

-0.5 inche on right thigh (yes my thighs are two different sizes)

According to the scale I am up 2 pounds putting me at 160. I am wearing my size 8-10 clothes and my size S-M shirts (the breastfeeding friendly ones). I am 5’7″ and I was 153 pre-pregnancy, gained 22 pounds with Baby C putting me at 175 pounds. All in all, I am okay with my weight. It’s a number. An arbitrary number that doesn’t take into account muscle mass and strength. I’m not going to lie, I wish the number was smaller. But I do know I am strong. I am healthy. And it’s just a number. I’m thrilled that I was wearing all my regular clothes about 8 weeks postpartum and I am gaining some muscle! I’m sharing some raw honesty here with these numbers, because healthy bodies come in all shapes and sizes!

According to the fit test I have improved a lot too! In all 8 exercises I increased the number of reps I could do in 1 minute. I can even do some Push Up Jacks now. The moves aren’t as hard coordination wise, but the Fit Test was still tough since I maxed out what I could do.

Overall, with my days off, life craziness, and my diet (more on this in a bit) I am happy with my results so far. Physically, I notice a little more definition in my thighs and stomach, and seeing my measurements reassures me I am making progress.

Now for my eats!

Week 2 eats was during Labor Day weekend so alcohol was consumed, along with snack foods, and more sugar and treats than the previous week. I knew this would be the case, and I was okay with it. I also did make solid food choices.

For breakfast I had oatmeal and coffee. A morning snack would be cottage cheese and either grapes or pineapple or a Greek yogurt with granola. And some days it was both.

Lunch was either out (BBQ) or a quick PB&J. An afternoon snack was usually a chocolate protein shake that also curbed my sweet tooth.

And dinner this week was all over from pizza to ribs to salad to PB&J, or eggs.

One thing I focused on this week was increasing my protein and I am happy to say most days I was around 75-80 grams.

Week 3 eats brings us to this week, and the biggest diet change now is that I have eliminated dairy from my diet because of Baby C’s reflux. So I know longer eat milk, cheese, yogurt, cottage cheese, or protein shakes. So I’ve gotten creative.

My diet now is a lot of meat, veggies, fruit, and complex carbs like oatmeal, quinoa, and brown rice.

One thing I have started to make, which I’m really enjoying, our meat and veggie bowls and rice bowls. And its literally what it sounds like. Cooked meat seasoned various ways, tons of veggies, and enjoy!

The other night I made a Korean beef rice bowl with ground beef and brown rice and it was delicious. Tonight I am going to make a pineapple cilantro salmon rice bowl – yum!

For my sweet tooth, I came across the Peanut Butter Chocolate Larabar. Holy moly ya’ll! This bar is everything. Its vegan, dairy free (Yay!), gluten free, and kosher. And this bar is like death by chocolate. It not only is a quick and simple snack, but its a great treat.

I also made dairy free ice cream! I blended 2 frozen bananas, 1/4 avocado, and 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, and a splash of almond milk. I topped it with unsweetened coconut, almonds, and marshmallows and had rocky road ice cream! You guys, make this. Like seriously. Like right this minute.

It.Was.So.Good.

Since my go to dairy snacks aren’t an option any more I have fruit, beef jerky, veggies, or eggs (hard boiled, on top of avocado toast, etc), and my tried and true PB&J (I love PB&J – can you tell?) for snack options. Its been an adjustment for sure, but fortunately most labels list if milk is contained so that makes it very easy. And in the end, I think I am actually eating healthier.

And that concludes my Insanity update for now!

Leave a Reply

